What is Vanity

What is vanity? A tummy tuck?  Breast implants?  How about a nose job?  If you think they are not vain, then what if someone came along and offered to pay for this type of procedure in full — would you take them up on it, or not go through with it?  (In other words, if money was not a constraint at all, would you or would you not do it…)  So, when you think of these things, do you think they are somewhat vain acts?  Or rather the corollary, when you think about things that are vain, what do you consider?

Well, what about Crest Whitestrips, or Botox, or a tanning salon.  Aren’t they all forms of the same thing?  But I think we see things like this on a sort of continuum (i.e. not as black or white, either all vain or none as vain).  I think we all draw a line somewhere differently, and that’s just fine.   So where do you draw the distinction between what’s “ok” and what is “vain”…?


Friday:

SHTUNK (SHTOONK)

A nasty person

You shtunk! You knocked over that plate on purpose!


2 Responses to “What is Vanity”


  1. 1 Brad May 31, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    I was JUST thinking about this recently. I have a friend who’s always trying to get me to get Botox with him and I won’t do it. I always say, “I want to age gracefully and naturally and rely on a healthy lifestyle to keep me looking my best at whatever age I am.”. But, then I began thinking about it. I had braces. I’ve had gum grafting surgery. I paid extra for the nicer frames for my glasses. I trim my body hair. I get haircuts every 3-4 weeks. I use three different facial creams (under eye, thicker for the dry areas around my nose, and lighter moisture-control for my oily forehead). I could go on and on…

    But, I won’t do Botox. That’s where I somehow draw the line. Is it because a needle’s involved? Well, a needle was involved when I got my first cavity – they used it to inject the Novocaine before I had my little cavity filled with, of course, the white filler (even though it’s a little more expensive and may not last as long as the metal, it looks better, right?).

    And now that you mention it, I’ve got a box of Crest Whitestrips I’ve been meaning to use. No time like the present…


Leave a Reply

